Preparing the final report

We are currently incorporating the feedback that we have received into the final report before presenting it to Council later this year. In the meantime feel free to browse the draft report to get a feel for how we are planning for highball sports in the area.

What's in the updated report?

The updated draft now includes the following:

  • Private Netball competition participation figures
  • Northern Football League participation figures
  • Further postcode analysis for both basketball and netball participants
  • Development of a sub-regional facility hierarchy
  • Further information on regional educational site courts and availability
  • Notes proposed additional stadiums within the sub region including the development of a four indoor court and four outdoor court facility on the site of John Cain Memorial Reserve in Darebin
  • A draft action plan to help guide future investment

What are we planning to do?

To respond to the lack of facilities in Banyule a range of revised strategic directions have been proposed. View the directions and let us know your thoughts. Are the directions on track? Is there anything missing?

Understanding needs & background

In 2014 Council commissioned Simply Great Leisure (now Otium Planning Group) to undertake a Strategic Needs Assessment for the Banksia Community Sports Stadium. The study confirmed the need in the short, medium and long term to develop additional indoor courts to support the Banyule community.

The lack of available courts, relatively high occupancy level of the existing facilities, participation growth, predicted significant population growth rate coupled with the anticipated demand, particularly for basketball and netball activities, supports the future provision of additional indoor sports courts.

The Sub Regional Indoor Sport Needs Analysis Draft Report (SRISA) has been prepared by Otium Sport and Leisure Planning Group and funded in partnership with Nillumbik and Darebin Councils, Basketball Victoria and Netball Victoria.

The purpose of the report was to review the need for indoor sports court in the sub region and identify the potential impact of the proposed La Trobe University Sporting Precinct.

The draft report confirms the sub region currently has 36 indoors sports facilities providing 55 courts. Within Banyule there are 17 facilities comprising of 25 courts. 14 facilities (19 courts) are located on school grounds (3 independent and 11 DET owned).

The draft report also confirms Banyule’s existing facilities are at capacity during peak times with the limited access to courts is impacting sports participation levels. A significant percentage of Banyule residents are travelling outside of the municipality to access quality programs and facilities.

In April 2017 Council resolved to contribute funding to the development of indoor stadium at La Trobe University’s Sports Precinct and also adopted the Sub Regional Indoor Sport Needs Analysis Draft Report (SRISA) for initial public consultation.

The report was made available for public comment and included on this page from the 12 April to the 12 May 2017.